A New Day

No not really anything that inspiring. I wish my phone in posts counted on my graph. Oh well.

I’ve decided to write a novel. I’ve wanted to do this forever, but have yet to get around to it. I was inspired by one of my friends who was inspired by this Organization that has a novel-writing “program” every year in Nov. You write 50,000 words in one month.

No editing, no analyzing just output. they warn you a lot of it will be crap. I’m just concerned about having the time to put that much out. So this of course is just a quick test to see how long it takes to write so many words.

Not bad so far its 117 in about 7 mins. When doing the writing you can use outlines and Character “sketches”. What you aren’t supposed to do is use any old work. it’s kinda cheating on your word count and it wants you to start fresh.

I decided last night that I was going to use my nightmares as the basis. It’s an idea i’ve had for almost 10 years. Yeah i’ve has some nightmares that I still remember 10 years later. I wrote a short story based on it while I was in college and working at a newspaper. My friends (at the paper) loved it, my English teacher hated it. I knew I was on to something.

I’m going to start with two stories. maybe I’ll work a few others in there if needed. I don’t really know if that really counts since it will technically be two stories (or more) if needed.

I’m deciding to take the chance because 1st, this is the book I want to write. 2nd because it’s the only story I really cave characters on and want to do at this short notice. Of course I may not even need more than one. Sure when I wrote down the original it was only two type written pages, but that was using strictly what I dreamt. This will be an explanation of the whole thing. background, character development… I may or may nt change the ending. I could add more very easily. but do I want the cliff hanger type of ending like I had. Or one with more of a conclusion.

Then I guess they use Dec to edit. At least that’s what they said. I don’t know if it was a “joke” or not. It was written in the inspirational, getting you to write and join area.

It would be really nice it they did do it that though. maybe when I’m done with this I’ll check. How-To: Steps to Novel Writing LOL

Leave a Reply

